• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Pen and ink drawings

katy

Posted 15 April 2006 - 03:17 PM

How do you do it? What different techniques can u use? I'm always scared to do pen drawings cos i just know i'll make mistakes and muck everything up. Im a bit unsure of how to get different shades and make things look smooth unsure.gif

x_Claire_x

Posted 15 April 2006 - 06:20 PM

hey, im not an expert far from it lol1 but when i do ink drawings i use one of those handwriting pens and i use dots to do the shading. i do the drawing in pencil first then go over it and fill in the dark and light shades

smb

Posted 18 April 2006 - 01:23 AM

Folk always seem to be a bit scared to use pens and paint in art for some reason, so here's a schpeel of how I think you should do it IPB Image

You do not have to pay the slightest bit of attention, as long as you call me miss macleod i'm... ok. IPB Image

Well firstly I would like to apologise for the image i have used...i kind of did it without thinking it might be a tad unappropriate. unsure.gif

I find the best way to do a pen drawing is to get one of the inky pens (something like the edding55 pens ) They are everywhere, not hard to get.

They work really really nicely with water. Like, you can do the drawing first and then "melt" the ink down with water. That'll definitely give a nice smoothness to yer drawings.

Aye, so if you have an image

- sketch the lines out first. Go light with the pen though, dont lean too hard just now.

example

Remember to keep looking at what our drawing and dont be afraid to put in as much detail as you like. Draw exactly what you see, not what you think you see. The SQA marker guy wants to see that you have considered and thought about what you are drawing. If you are drawing things closer to you, make these lines slightly darker and make the line lighter as things move further back. Shows you've thought about perspective and such things.