Jump to content


VB or UniCOMAL?


15 replies to this topic

Poll: Which do you use? (14 member(s) have cast votes)

Which do you use?

  1. UniCOMAL or some COMAL Version (4 votes [28.57%])

    Percentage of vote: 28.57%

  2. Visual Basic or some VB Version (10 votes [71.43%])

    Percentage of vote: 71.43%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 Ryan

    Showing Improvement

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 36 posts
  • Location:Alford, Aberdeenshire
  • Interests:Working Hard!! Yeah.
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 April 2005 - 02:00 PM

So?

We use UniCOMAL 3.11 here at Alford Acad.

#2 Dave

    Ruler (but not owner) of hsn

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,252 posts
  • Location:kilmarnock(ok kilmaurs)
  • Interests:programming, exercising, brass band, using this board
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 April 2005 - 04:21 PM

as far as i know my school is still UNICOMAL but i use VB at home

If i am not here i am somewhere else



#3 coca

    Child Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 891 posts
  • Location:Stormwind City
  • Interests:Programming and gaming<br /><br />http://coca-123.bebo.com
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 April 2005 - 04:42 PM

My school uses UniComal 3.11 too, but I use C when allowed.
<MrBob> I hate Uni. At least in film studies we get to talk about Fight Club.
<@X-Factor> Wouldnt you be breaking the first 2 rules?


#4 Shaun

    Fully Fledged Genius

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,571 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 19 April 2005 - 07:16 PM

My school uses Comal.

#5 Mattz

    Showing Improvement

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 April 2005 - 08:45 PM

Neither. We use True Basic and Prolog. I.E the ones they obviously got free with the accursed Windows 95 boxes they have (some of them came with Win98 but the Council made them reformat and put 95 in...go figure).
Anyone else using it?

#6 sparky

    Fully Fledged Genius

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,323 posts
  • Location:Airdrie

Posted 20 April 2005 - 08:48 PM

Well for the programming stuff we used COMAL.
For AI, we used Prolog and Intermodeller.
Mark

#7 werlop

    Fully Fledged Genius

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,497 posts
  • Location:Cambridge (Term Time), Bearsden (Glasgow) Non Term Time
  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 April 2005 - 08:57 PM

Our school is very behind and still used TrueBasic which is AWFUL. I used PHP for standard grade and higher though because I really hate BASIC.
Click here to visit the Bearsden Academy Website
user posted image


If you can keep your head when all about you
Are losing theirs and blaming it on you,
If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you
But make allowance for their doubting too,
If you can wait and not be tired by waiting,
Or being lied about, don't deal in lies,
Or being hated, don't give way to hating,
And yet don't look too good, nor talk too wise:
Yours is the Earth and everything that's in it,
And--which is more--you'll be a Man, my son!

#8 Dave

    Ruler (but not owner) of hsn

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,252 posts
  • Location:kilmarnock(ok kilmaurs)
  • Interests:programming, exercising, brass band, using this board
  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 April 2005 - 10:06 PM

i actually quite like BASIC

As for cost cutting my computing deptment is going to use Mozilla's composer for creating web pages as part of the new SG course. That is until someone tells our head that using anything other than IE will allow you to by-pass the filtering system for web sites.

If i am not here i am somewhere else



#9 KhalidBoussouara

    Top of the Class

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 353 posts
  • Location:Glasgow, Scotland
  • Interests:Hey this is weird cause I've not been here in ages. Been busy with uni and all that. Currently in second year of uni studying medicine. But you probably already knew that anyways.
  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 May 2005 - 12:44 AM

I had to use truebasic again in 5th year. It wasn't that bad but I wouldn't have minded something a bit more complex.
MSN: khalid@boussouara.co.uk

#10 Chünz

    Top of the Class

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 354 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 May 2005 - 10:24 AM

Well I used VB, and I can't stand it. Thats why I'm not doing Adv. Higher next year.

I have used Basic once (I think). Is that the program that involves a lot of conditional statements?

#11 Dave

    Ruler (but not owner) of hsn

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,252 posts
  • Location:kilmarnock(ok kilmaurs)
  • Interests:programming, exercising, brass band, using this board
  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 May 2005 - 10:25 AM

how can you not like VB its excellent

There is nothing that cant be done with it one way or another

If i am not here i am somewhere else



#12 coca

    Child Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 891 posts
  • Location:Stormwind City
  • Interests:Programming and gaming<br /><br />http://coca-123.bebo.com
  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 May 2005 - 01:04 PM

I don't like the size of the VB runtime required. Other than that, it's a fun language!
<MrBob> I hate Uni. At least in film studies we get to talk about Fight Club.
<@X-Factor> Wouldnt you be breaking the first 2 rules?


#13 SomethingTypical

    Site Swot

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Location:Caithness
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 May 2005 - 04:09 PM

We had to change from True Basic to VB because the new computing room was XP. Twas a bit of a steep learning curve.

#14 Chünz

    Top of the Class

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 354 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 May 2005 - 05:05 PM

QUOTE(Dave @ May 21 2005, 10:25 AM)
how can you not like VB its excellent

There is nothing that cant be done with it one way or another

View Post

Well it's okay but it can get pretty annoying (esp. when things just don't work!).

#15 Dave

    Ruler (but not owner) of hsn

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,252 posts
  • Location:kilmarnock(ok kilmaurs)
  • Interests:programming, exercising, brass band, using this board
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 May 2005 - 05:15 PM

things just dont work because programming languages only do what you tell them to do, not what you want them to do.

I didnt think the runtime files were that big a problem now esp as they come pre installed on XP

If i am not here i am somewhere else



#16 coca

    Child Prodigy

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 891 posts
  • Location:Stormwind City
  • Interests:Programming and gaming<br /><br />http://coca-123.bebo.com
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 May 2005 - 08:22 PM

Yeah, it's good that the runtime comes with XP, but if you want to deploy your app on any other system, the whole package will be over 1MB!

Take a simple app that shows a MessageBox (or MsgBox) on the screen.

In VB6, it's 20KB + 1MB of runtime.

In C, it's 5KB for the whole thing!
<MrBob> I hate Uni. At least in film studies we get to talk about Fight Club.
<@X-Factor> Wouldnt you be breaking the first 2 rules?






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users